Sunday, 24 March 2013

Eugene A. Forsey Prize in Canadian Labour and Working-Class History

The Canadian Committee on Labour History invites submissions for the Eugene A. Forsey Prize for graduate and undergraduate work on Canadian labour and working-class history. 

Prizes are awarded annually for the best undergraduate essay, or the equivalent, and for the best graduate thesis completed in the past three years. The awards are determined by separate committees established by the executive of the CCLH. In the spirit of the journal LabourlLe Travail itself, the committees interpret the definition of Canadian labour and working-class history broadly.

Undergraduate essays may be nominated by course instructors, but nominators are limited to one essay per competition. Additionally, authors may submit their own work. Essays not written at a university or college may be considered for the undergraduate awards.

For the graduate prize, supervisors may nominate one thesis per competition or an author of a thesis may submit a copy. Submissions of both MA and PhD theses are welcome. Theses defended on or after 1 May 2010 are eligible for consideration in the current competition.

The Prize is supported by an anonymous donor, with the consent of the late Dr. Forsey's family, the CCLH chose to name the Prize in his honour because of his pioneering work in the field of Canadian labour history. Dr. Forsey was Research Director of the Canadian Congress of Labour and later the Canadian Labour Congress and also served on the committee which founded LabourlLe Travail.

To submit entries to the competition, four copies of essays and one copy of a thesis must be sent to Forsey Prize, Canadian Committee on Labour History, c/o Alvin Finkel, Center for State and Legal Studies, Athabasca University, 1 University Drive, Athabasca, AB T9S 3A3 Canada. 

The deadline for submissions in the current competition is 1 July 2013.

For more info visist:

Prizes will be announced in a forthcoming issue of LabourlLe Travail. Previous winners of the Prize are listed on the CCLH website. 

No comments:

Post a Comment